New ASTeC Director announcement
29 May 2020



Congratulations to the new ASTeC director, Professor Jim Clarke




Congratulations to Professor Jim Clarke, who has been confirmed by STFC executive board as the new director of the Accelerator Science and Technology Centre at Daresbury. Jim will take over some activities immediately and will formally take over the role f​​​rom Professor Susan Smith on 07/09/2020. Peter McIntosh remains ASTeC deputy director.

Jim has over 30 years experience in particle accelerator research and development, and is a world recognized expert on the subject of synchrotron radiation and undulator design, in which he is a published author*. He is also an honorary professor at the CI’s own University of Liverpool. Jim has been with Daresbury since 1989 and with ASTeC since its creation in 2002. He has held previous roles as head of the magnetics and radiation sources group and more recently head of ASTeC science division, so is well placed to lead UK accelerator development into the future.

We wish Jim the best of luck in his new role and we wish Susan a happy retirement.


*The Science and Technology of Undulators and Wigglers, Oxford University Press, 2004

Contact: Diakun, Joseph (STFC,DL,AST)